Blind Optimism

I hate too much optimism, it disgusts me. There I said it.

How much is too much? Well, they say it right that too much of anything is bad, even optimism. Blind optimism, if that’s a thing, is what I’m talking about. Being unrealistically optimistic – that’s what I mean.

Why do I hate it? Because it clouds your judgment. It makes you look at life through rose-colored glasses. It makes us happy, momentarily, and odds are that we overlook some important details what what needs to be achieved. It’s kinda counterproductive in a sense that it gives you a laid back, cheerful outlook.

You know when people say, “Everything will get better”, I want to virtually slap them because that’s a false statement. Some things may get better, some things might not. Okay now that sounds infinitely rational and better. People tell us to have a positive outlook, how about realistic and balanced?

Why or how can I be positive when I am dying from inside?

I could go on and on about this considering how enthusiastic I am about depressive realism, but let’s save that for when I have nothing to write about. Do let me know what you guys think.

 

 

Leave a Reply

